HSKlevel Review

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to share a website that I’ve been developing for the past two years. It’s called HSKlevel and allows you to test your Chinese level and vocabulary. You can take the test on www.hsklevel.com.

About HSKlevel
The test consists of 60 vocabulary questions like the one below. The questions automatically adapt to your level. You can choose simplified or traditional characters.

After completing the 60 questions (which takes ~5 minutes), you get your results:

• How many words you know
  • How many characters your know
  • How many words you know for each HSK 2.0 level, HSK 3.0 level and TOCFL level
  • How much you can understand from different sources (movies, social media, literature, newspaper, blogs)
  • Your progression if you take the test several times (see e.g. @Kelly-Mandarin-HSK_3 's impressive progression on this topic).

For now, the test is only about vocabulary testing and does not test your pronunciation or grammar. Note that this is a self-testing app, so you can take the test several times with several approaches: once for your active vocabulary and once for your passive vocabulary for example. The test is free but if you enjoy it and want to support the project, you can make a small donation.

About me