Seeking advice for learning two languages

Hi there! I’m new to LTL Flexi Classes. I’m only a few classes in, but so far I am enjoying myself.

I’m seeking advice for learning two languages simultaneously. Some backstory for context: My husband is Taiwanese and his parents don’t speak English so I want to learn to be able to communicate with them and stop having my husband act as a translator so we can have a stronger relationship. Being Taiwanese, my in-laws speak Mandarin and they want me to learn Mandarin as they believe it is the most practical language to learn (I agree). However, they exclusively speak Taiwanese amongst themselves so I know I want to learn Taiwanese too.

All that being said, Mandarin is still my main focus, but I want to start learning Taiwanese as well. Does anyone have any suggestions for the ratio of lessons/study time that would be recommended for learning both? Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Love to hear this Bethany. Not too dissimiliar a story to mine (Italian wife, family primarily speak Italian).

I remember when I first met my mother-in-law - my wife was laughing all the way through the meal translating because we couldn’t speak the respective language. Since then we’ve both made great progress and can now communicate pretty freely in English and Italian.

Learning two languages at once isn’t easy. I don’t have a solution for it honestly but I would absorb as much as possible and don’t mix them up in your studies.

Dedicate one week/month to one language, then switch. Maybe spend January exclusively on Mandarin, then February on Taiyu…

Listen to podcasts, speak to family and friends and use Hack Chinese to increase your vocab (http://hackchinese.com/)

It’ll be a long road (I’m still very much on mine) but so worth it as the conversations start to flow :smile:

1 Like