Why do you learn Vietnamese?

My name is Rosie, Vietnamese pdf creator :star_struck:. What’ motivate you to learn Vietnamese?
Have you ever been Vietnam before you learn Vietnamese? :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

3 Likes

I study Vietnamese because I live in Saigon and love the country.
In Beijing I was so used to being able to speak with everyone, not needing translators nor restrict myself to living in the "Expat Bubble because I could speak Mandarin.
That suddenly all changed when I got to Saigon. It was quite frustrating to suddenly be the “dumb foreigner” again. So, even though I had sworn myself to never study a tonal language again (mastering Chinese tones was the hardest thing I have ever done in my life), I started learning Vietnamese.

It’s really quite fun, though I can get a bit frustrated with locals in some parts of Saigon always wanting to speak English to any foreigner they see. It is understandable because so many foreigners here cannot speak Vietnamese, so I think we really need more foreigners living in Saigon to study Vietnamese.

I am probably A2 level now and it has made my life here a lot richer and more interesting.
I still hate the tones though…

3 Likes

As a foreigner living and working in Saigon, learning Vietnamese seems like an impossible task for me. Every time I speak out what I’ve learned, my Vietnamese colleagues try to correct my pronunciation which sometimes made me frustrated. I believe that it happens to all tonal language learners. Thanks to LTL Vietnamese class, I feel more confident as I can practice with other foreigners and make mistakes together. I am sure I can be at an intermediate level someday. Wish me luck.

3 Likes

Good luck @jiyoung-Vietnamese-VN_Intro - Vietnamese does seem hard but it is certainly not impossible. I’m sure with the LTL teachers you’re going to fly!!

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum.
Yes, the pronunciation in Vietnamese is a huge challenge. I think even more so than Mandarin.