What's my level with LTL? (not new to mandarin, but new to LTL)

I’ve been self studying as well as taking a few classes via iTalki for the last 1.5years and am wondering where I’ll likely fit on the scale of “what classes to take at LTL.” I can pretty confidently pass any HSK 1 and 2 exam that I find online (if that means much). My speaking ability is lacking a bit since it’s hard to be self taught and speak well (aka, not much interaction with others). I’m currently planning to test out some HSK2 classes, what do you all think?

(much of this question isn’t just my mandarin ability, but more about the methods of teaching here and how well it integrates with self learners)

thanks!

1 Like

I would go for Chapter one of HSK 2. Flexi Classes involve a lot of speaking (which sounds like what you’re need) and listening so you will find them a little harder than reading and writing tests you take online.
However, the best way is to just try it out and then accordingly adjust. You can change levels and chapters at any time. Also your do not need to study the topics in exact order, pick classes that are available at the times that you find convenient.

You might find that you are struggling with tones and might want to go further down to make sure you really work on the tones and get them right before challenging yourself with other parts of the language (you need to be able to say tones correctly - without tones speaking mandarin is impossible; however if you don’t hear them that we’ll that’s ok you can usually guess from context).

Or you find the speaking quite easy, then go and skip up to chapter 3 or 4 and see how that feels.

At least that’s what I would say. What were other students experiences whi started around that level? Anything to share?

1 Like

that’s fantastic to hear, I definitely need to work on my speaking

1 Like

I have the same problem. I tried HSK2 but I found it quite stressful because I can’t even introduce myself properly.

2 Likes