Total Beginner - where to start?

Hi guys!

So I promised my best friend I would start learning Korean with her in July.

There’s only one problem… I’ve never studied Korean before and have no idea where to start!

So my question to any current or previous Korean students is: would you recommend that I…

1. start by memorising the Korean alphabet/writing system and then learn vocabulary
  2. learn some basic vocabulary and grammar first (i.e. focus on spoken language and treat the writing system as a secondary priority)
  3. strike a balance between both vocabulary and writing systems

For context, we’re hoping to take a trip to Korea next summer, so luckily we have lots of time to play with.

Any other pieces of advice (or words of warning :wink:) you guys have would be very much appreciated!

Thanks in advance :grin:

3 Likes

Start with the Korean Flexi Classes Intro level. Hangul will be taught there in the first few classes. For levels above Intro Level the order of the topics is not so important however for the Intro level I would recommend to study the topics in the order they are shown on the “My Level” page.
Hangul is a pretty amazing writing system and you will get it quite quickly.

1 Like

Hey Hannah, I swear we are just mirroring each others language paths here! I’m waiting to hear you start your Italian journey next :sweat_smile:

If I can give a piece of advice from a fellow Japanese/Mandarin student who dipped into Korean:

1 - Hangul is easy. As Andreas said, nail that before anything else. I remember a friend telling me you can learn it in an afternoon but I laughed it off. Turns out she wasn’t far off. It’s dead easy and super logical.