The Introduce Yourself Topic

Hey everyone. I’m Max (I actually work at LTL) and I’m currently studying Chinese to around a HSK5 level.

My speaking is tailing off not being in China but my reading is improving.

I take Flexi Classes when I get time so hoping to meet some of you soon :slightly_smiling_face:

Max

2 Likes

This is Andreas, I am the admin of this Forum and also in charge of running Flexi Classes.
I am originally from Germany/Austria and first came to China in 2002 to study Mandarin.
I am very bad at learning languages but found speaking foreign languages very helpful for my life. I guess I have been doing it for so long that by now I sometimes even enjoy it.
What I really like though is practicing a language to discover a new culture. It is a completely different experience to speaking English.

I am a native German speaker and Mandarin and English are my main two work languages. I am currently studying Vietnamese even though I had promised myself that after Mandarin I would never study a tonal language again. Oh well, sometimes life just decides itself…Vietnamese is great, but I find the pronounciation very tough.

This is still Andreas, but this time as a normal user not admin.
I speak German, English and Mandarin at a fluent level and am currently studying Vietnamese. My next aim is to learn Spanish, but maybe I switch to Japanese. Definitely no more new tonal languages for me!

2 Likes

Really impressive. I found to learn a language is so hard, I am really struggling with mandarin and admire your enthusiasm to continue learning. Keep going.

2 Likes

I’m learning Italian and Chinese at the same time and I always have moments where my motivation drops.

I found for me, the key is to keep the daily habits active.

Recently for me I missed 3 weeks of Italian classes but I kept my daily Duolingo and flashcards up. This has helped keep things active in my mind.

It’s always good hearing other stories, they help all of us stay motivated! 加油大家!

1 Like