Something you wish you knew

Hello everyone. It is my first time ever taking any Mandarin classes. As a beginner I would like to ask you to give me any advice. Something you wish you knew when you were barley starting. Thank you.

Hi Corina!
So I’m not too far along in my Mandarin learning journey (about 6 months) but when I started I’m glad I was forced to focus on the tones. I tried my best each time to copy the sounds my language teachers made and really focused on the pinyin and the tone pronunciation. Also when studying I would listen to the pronunciation again and again and say it out loud to try and get my tongue and mouth to make the same sounds then I’d write myself a little note on a word in English that it sounded like. For example … the X in Mandarin sounds very breathy and not harsh like in english. Its more close to a “xsh” sound but it took me a bit to get used to the difference. I also watched native speakers mouths as they talk to see the motions.
Anyway hopefully that helps a little!

3 Likes

Welcome Corina (and also Sabrina) - it’s great to see the community here building week on week.

As a learner of Mandarin since 2017 I can only second @Sabrina-Mandarin-HSK_11 sentiments on the tones. They are vital. Don’t be afraid to take the tones classes 2-3 times over until you feel comfortable. It makes all the difference in the long run.

I don’t know if you’ve seen it but one of our students @Ben-Mandarin-HSK_5 made this amazing pronunciation trainer which is live for HSK 1 lessons. It might be really useful for you at this stage - Chinese Pronunciation Tool // Practice Your Chinese Speaking NOW

I’d also build up a portfolio of apps that you consistently use - by consistently I mean near enough every day.

Hack Chinese, Du Chinese, Skritter, HSK Online - whatever they are, I would pick 2-3 you like and slowly build a base for yourself.