Pinyin not included

I was wondering when you stopped writing the pinyin on the learning material. It seems that’s only for HSK4, is that right?

Maybe you could start offering it earlier… I see that this was a hot topic a while back. I come down very much on the side of no pinyin.
Discover China book 2 has no pinyin. But then that series of books is a bit bonkers and all over the place (although beautiful and exciting to look at).

Maybe a little bit before HSK4 as long as you add the pinyin for new words?

Once you get passed HSK1 (old one) I feel students should know how to read the first 150 characters of HSK1.

As soon as I started learning Mandarin, I started learning the characters. I did freak out at first, but there are a lot of great books out there which explain the etymology inside each hanzi, the components, the first most important 100 radicals and how they are the key to understanding and memorising hanzis etc.

I wonder how other people feel about this. And I really disagree with Andreas about pinyin helping you make a connection… maybe it worked for him, but the connection happens through hanzis. When I look at notes on a page, I recognise what they mean because I’ve got the training. I don’t need to write them out in letters or even play them. The dots are music to me.

I recommend Tintin and the Blue Lotus 蓝莲花 in Chinese for training your eyes. It’s a great read!

2 Likes

丁丁is a great suggestion! I’m quite busy with 哈利·波特 but definitely will add 蓝莲花 to my list.

1 Like

This 丁丁在美洲 is great for both listening and reading practice!

2 Likes

Oooh fantastic, thank you for the youtube link! I was going to ask, how do you get to listen to 丁丁…
And Harry Potter, what a great idea… did you order the Chinese version straight from a Chinese bookseller? I wonder whether they have their own Stephen Fry to record the audio version. I will investigate.