I'm a beginner, should I learn Mandarin through music? What are your recommendations?

Hello everyone. I’m taking some Mandarin classes and I’m crawling through the Intro level so slow :expressionless:
I see myself listening to music all day so I think it’s also a good to jam Mandarin in my head (for listening and speaking skills) :thinking:
I see that I need to get the tone right in Mandarin so is it a good example to learn Mandarin through music for a beginner? I’m worried that I learn the wrong pronunciation and it will be difficult to correct it later.
If you think music is good to try, can you recommend me some good ones? The only song I know and I can literally sing that even I don’t even know Mandarin is Tonghua Tong Hua (Fairy Tale) - Guang Liang - YouTube

1 Like

When you sing in Mandarin you sing all syllables in the first tone. If you would sing another tone it would also change the height of the note, it would change the music, so this is not possible. :wink:
Singing Western music in Mandarin is a big miracle, it is not really possible, and Chinese people have to guess a lot what the lyrics really mean. And there must be a lot of funny stuff, as the lyrics could be understood in different ways quite often. :wink:

Singing can help you to get used to the sounds and singing is a nice thing to feel somehow at home in a language.
But it will not help you much as a Mandarin beginner, as the tones are really the most important thing.
Learning the syllables without tone makes no sense and you can’t add learning a tone afterwards, as each tone gives the sound a different meaning. In the beginning you learn sounds with only one important tone and one important meaning. But later on most of the sounds can be pronounced in all tones and have a lot of different meanings.
You should learn the whole package from the beginning and exaggerate when you pronounce the tones.