Feeling a bit lost

Hello LTL friends :slight_smile:! I was debating if I wanted to create this post or not, but I decided that it couldn’t hurt to ask others who are also studying language.

I have been studying Mandarin, on and off, for about a year and a half; I studied by myself with a plethora of mobile apps. I find the language fascinating and clicked with me easier than romance languages with such strict grammar rules. As winter approaches and being inside more often, I found LTL school and decided to get more serious about learning Mandarin. I have thoroughly enjoyed my courses at the Intro level. However, I do feel that I struggle to fully understand what the teachers are saying sometimes; I become frustrated with myself for not comprehending. From studying Mandarin on my phone, I have picked up on plenty of words, but when it comes down to conversation I feel I’ve learned very little overall.
I do think one issue that I have run into is that using many apps at once has sort of regressed my ability to recall everything.

My main question for you guys is, do you have any tips or suggestions for getting on the right track to study effectively? I use the material from my courses, but I would be interested in memorizing and perfecting my basic foundations, numbers, and grammar too.

Sorry for the novel haha, thank you in advance for the tips!

Hi Sydney,

Dan from Hack Chinese here.

I imagine many others will have great ideas, but I thought I’d share my thoughts here too, as I’ve talked to many students who have gone through this stage.

My thoughts will cover:

• Motivation
  • Apps
  • Study time (Knowledge vs. Practice)

Motivation