Do you think you'd be more "confident" talking to an AI, instead of a local person?

It seems like, sooner or later, we will use AI for practicing language learning. So my question is, would you feel more confident speaking to an AI, instead of a local person?

Sometimes, especially when I started learning mandarin, I felt very overwhelmed talking to locals because I was afraid to make mistakes.

Maybe AI could help beginners earning confidence in their speaking skills because they wouldn’t feel “the pressure” of judgement.

On the other hand, I think that making some real local friends is always the best choice.

It will be interesting to see how AI will be integrated in the language learning process, I’m very curious to see how things will change!

1 Like

I would love to practise with an AI. At any time of the day, to mention one big advantage. I mean we all do so already. I love using apps, speak to Google or Pleco and so on. My long-term private Chinese teacher runs a homepage where AI is automatically producing exercises after each recorded lesson.
Things are changing now extremely quickly again. It feels like the third wave of technology to me. When I was seven we got our first TV with two! channels and our first phone, attached to the wall. Last weekend an update told me that one of my music apps now is able to recognize any even bad scan of a sheet of music and play the full score perfectly and I can use the scan in any notation program and arrange it and work with it. That saves time enormously.

Recently I got a new friend who is Chinese. With her I feel really confident to practise. Her German is about my Chinese level, her interests are similar, she has the same free time gaps as I do. But still I would love to practise talking with an AI as well. The more boring parts, repeat the same again and again, always maybe only slightly different, is nicer with a machine.