AMA Andreas Laimboeck - Founder of LTL / Flexi

I had some people ask me about my learning experiences and background so I thought I do an Ask Me Anything on here for a week (until 10th of January).

Short Bio, I am Andreas Laimboeck, the founder or LTL and Flexi Classes. I am originally from Germany/Austria, went to university in the UK, came first to China in 1999, lived in Beijing for 16 years and started LTL in a Beijing coffee shop in 2008.

I have been bad at learning languages all my life, almost failed French at high school and was the only student in my year at Beijing Language and Culture University who wasn’t given a Mandarin graduation ccertificate due to too low scores.

Today Mandarin is my main work language and I am currently studying Vietnamese (A2 level I would guess).

Ask Me Anything

6 Likes

Hi Andreas,

Good idea to do this. Here are some questions:
What did you do to become an HSK examiner (an awesome achievement!)?
After reaching an advanced level in Chinese, what did you to to further improve your language ability?
What was the process like to start LTL as a business?

Cameron

1 Like

Thanks Cameron. I was worried nobody was going to ask anything :smiley:

1. HSK examiner: It is less illustrious than it sounds. The HSK is mainly multiple choice so the scores are calculated by the software automatically. What the HSK examiners do is make sure the exam is run properly. So that includes running the software properly on the PC, trouble shooting connection issues (there is a Hanban support team online one talks to), making sure students dont cheat etc.
    When a school is accredited as an HSK examination centre, several staff members have to take the exam to become accredited examiners, which is what I did when LTL Beijing became an HSK examination centre. It’s a pretty long exam and all in Mandarin.